Join/Renew Now

Latest news

Hoffman’s three-peat at USATF 24 Hour Championships earns AOW nod


INDIANAPOLIS -- Jenny Hoffman recorded a three-peat at the North Coast 24 Hour, which served as the USATF 24 Hour Championships last weekend, taking her third consecutive title at the event to earn USATF Athlete of the Week.

Hoffman (Cambridge, Massachusetts) registered 142.07 miles over 24 hours between Saturday and Sunday, September 16-17. Impressively, Hoffman completed nearly 22 miles more than the second-place women’s finisher and was third overall behind the top two men’s finishers.

By virtue of her top finish at last weekend’s North Coast 24 Hour in Cleveland, Ohio, Hoffman and men’s winner Olivier Leblond earned automatic spots on the U.S. team that will compete at the 2017 IAU 24-Hour World Championships in Ireland in July 2017.

Other notable performances last week:

  • Ryan Hill (Hickory, North Carolina) charged to the front of the pack and never looked back, running to the men’s USATF 5 km Championships title with a finishing time of 13:57. In his first road 5 km ever, Hill battled a stacked field to take his first USARC title in his first attempt.
  • Olivier Leblond (Arlington, Virginia) won the men’s title at the USATF 24 Hour Championships last weekend, finishing 148.62 miles in the allotted time for the national title after finishing second in 2015. Leblond was the top finisher by just under four miles.
  • Aliphine Tuliamuk-Bolton (Santa Fe, New Mexico) won the women’s crown at the USATF 5 km Championships Sunday, crossing the finish victoriously in 15:22, a full twenty seconds ahead of her nearest competitor. Tuliamuk turned in what could be the most dominating performance on the USATF Running Circuit this season and earned her third straight USARC title.

Now in its 15th year, USATF’s Athlete of the Week program is designed to recognize outstanding performers at all levels of the sport. USATF names a new honoree each week and features the athlete on Selections are based on top performances and results from the previous week.

2016 Winners: Jan. 13, Garrett Heath; Jan. 20, Donavan Brazier; Jan. 27, Keni Harrison; Feb. 3, Jenn Suhr; Feb. 10, Vashti Cunningham; Feb. 17, Galen Rupp; Feb. 24, John Nunn; March 2, Curtis Beach; March 11, Bill Collins; March 16, Da’mira Allen; March 24, Michelle Carter; March 31, Janet Bawcom; April 8, Maria Michta-Coffey; April 14, Keni Harrison; April 22, LaShawn Merritt; April 28, Courtney Okolo; May 6, Ida Keeling; May 12, Willie Gault; May 18, Marquise Goodwin; June 2, Keni Harrison; June 9, Tia Brooks; June 16, Donavan Brazier; June 23, Sydney McLaughlin; June 30, Tia Jones; July 7, Allyson Felix; July 15, Bernard Lagat; July 22, Allen Woodard; July 29, Keni Harrison; August 5, Chantae McMillan; August 11, Myrle Mensey; August 20, Michelle Carter; August 26, Matt Centrowitz; September 1, Megan Roche; September 8, Christian Taylor; September 14, Joe Gray; September 21, Jenny Hoffman.

We welcome your nominations!

To nominate an athlete for USATF Athlete of the Week, please send a detailed email about his/her performance to

Amanda Brooks
Marketing and Communications Manager
USA Track & Field

© 2001-2023 USA Track & Field, Inc. All Rights Reserved.